• Home
  • The Top Diversity Leaders Healthcare — 2021

C-Suite Conversations

What healthcare leaders need to know now

The Top Diversity Leaders Healthcare — 2021




Furst Group and NuBrick Partners are proud to sponsor and support the Top Diversity Leaders in Healthcare, the awards program created by Modern Healthcare. This is our 13th year of sponsoring the program, which culminates in an awards gala that will be hosted at the Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel in Chicago, IL on December 9, 2021.


Please click here to read our recent article, “The spaces in between: Moving DE&I beyond the status quo,” and check out our Diversity Resource Library.


2021 Top Diversity Leaders in Healthcare 



Brenda Battle,

Senior Vice President, Community Health Transformation, Chief Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Officer, UChicago Medicine

R Carpenter-CommonSpirit-Health-Photo_WEB


Rosalyn Carpenter,

SVP and Chief Diversity Officer, CommonSpirit Health



Maxine Carrington,

Senior Vice President & Chief Human Resources Officer, Northwell Health



Dr. Bechara Choucair,

Vaccinations Coordinator, Biden administration



Dr. Ronald Copeland, MD,

SVP, Chief Equity, Inclusion, & Diversity Officer, Kaiser Permanente



Pete Delgado,

President/Chief Executive Officer, Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare System





Dr. Amar Desai,

President and Chief Executive Officer, Optum Pacific West



Delvecchio S. Finley,

President and Chief Executive Officer, Atrium Health Navicent



Eric C. Hunter,

Chief Executive Officer and President, CareOregon



Dr. Edward S. Kim, MD,

Physician-in-Chief, City of Hope Orange County, Vice Physician-in-Chief, City of Hope National Medical Center/City of Hope Orange County

Dr. Margaret-Larkins-Pettigrew_WEB


Dr. Margaret Larkins-Pettigrew,

Senior Vice President and Chief Clinical Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer, Allegheny Health Network and Highmark Health



Dr. Aletha Maybank, MD, MPH,

Chief Health Equity Officer and Senior Vice President, AMA



Dr. Rhonda Medows, MD, FAAFP,

President of Population Health Management for Providence and Chief Executive Officer of Ayin, Providence / Ayin

Dr. Yavar-Moghimi_WEB


Dr. Yavar Moghimi,

Chief Psychiatric Medical Officer, AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia, AmeriHealth Caritas



Dr. Kazuma-Nakagawa_WEB


Dr. Kazuma Nakagawa, MD, FAAN, FAHA,

Medical Director, Neuroscience Institute, The Queen's Health Systems



Dr. Pam Oliver, MD,

Executive Vice President, Novant Health and President, Novant Health Physician Network



Marvin O'Quinn,

President/COO, CommonSpirit Health



Ann-Gel Palermo, DrPH, MPH,

Senior Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and Chief of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Education and Research, Mount Sinai Health System
| View the Diversity Resource Library  
Dr. Richard-Park_WEB


Dr. Richard Park,

Founder, CityMD, and Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Rendr Care



Jason Purnell,

Vice President, Community Health Improvement, BJC HealthCare



Dr. Jaewon Ryu,

President and Chief Executive Officer, Geisinger Health




Nicholas Tejeda,

Group Chief Executive Officer, The Hospitals of Providence




Manika Turnbull, PhD,

Divisional Senior Vice President, Compensation, DEI, and Workforce Experience, Health Care Service Corporation



Dr. Melissa Welch,

Chief Medical Officer, InnovAge

Dr. Fran-Witt-MH-Photo_WEB


Dr. Fran Witt,

President and Chief Executive Officer, Effingham Health System

| View the Diversity Resource Library  



2021 Luminaries 




Greg Adams,

Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. and Hospitals



Dr. Georges Benjamin,

Executive Director, American Public Health Association



Dr. Tejal Gandhi, MD, MPH, CPPS,

Chief Safety and Transformation Officer, Press Ganey Associates




Dr. Bruce Siegel,

President and Chief Executive Officer, America's Essential Hospitals



2021 Women Leaders to Watch 

In addition, here are the 10 executives chosen as Women Leaders to Watch:




George Aloth,

President and Chief Executive Officer, CareFirst BCBS Community Health Plan District of Columbia



Cindy Bo,

Senior Vice President, Delaware Strategy, & Business Development, Nemours Children's Health



Dr. Olaoluwa Fayanju,

Regional Medical Director, Oak Street Health



Jackie Hunter, DC, MHA,

Senior Director, Diversity, Inclusion, and Talent Pipeline, Banner Health

| View the Diversity Resource Library  


Dr. Olugbenga Ogedegbe,

Director, Institute for Excellence in Health Equity, NYU Langone Health



Trina Parks, MHA, FACHE,

Executive Vice President, Chief Corporate Diversity and Inclusion Officer, RWJBarnabas Health



Avonia Richardson-Miller, EdD,

Senior Vice President, Chief Diversity Officer, Hackensack Meridian Health



Dr. Tracey Veal,

Fellow, Covid19 Collaboration, Los Angeles County Department of Public Health



Dr. Charles Vega,

Associate Dean, Office of Diversity and Inclusion, University of California, Irvine Medical School



Wylecia Wiggs Harris, PhD, CAE,

Chief Executive Officer, AHIMA

| View the Diversity Resource Library  


For more information, click here.

Tags: Modern Healthcare, Blog, diversity, Top Diversity Leaders, Top Diversity Leaders in Healthcare